Footprints International School CARE PROGRAM


FIS CARE (Center for Adaptive and Responsive Education) campus aims to provide support to students who are diagnosed with moderate to severe special education needs such as Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), Learning Disability (LD), Speech Program and Sensory Processing Disorder.


Program Mission:

Footprints International School (FIS) Center for Adaptive and Responsive Education (CARE) aims to provide an accommodating community, in which students with special needs will achieve their fullest potential and live with a sense of self-fulfillment.


Program Vision:

  • FIS CARE gives individualized high standard of education to instill self-awareness and self-advocacy to a diverse group of learners.
  • All FIS CARE teachers provide opportunities for students using different strategies, integrated recommendations from specialists and individualized materials to support the identified needs of all students.
  • All FIS CARE teachers aim to train students to be able to identify their strengths and weakness and become self-advocates.



  • At FIS CARE, we give an intensive program to support students with moderate to severe disabilities. Related Services Providers – Speech, Occupational and Behavior Therapists work with the Special Education Needs (SEN) Teacher in doing educational and therapeutic assessment, designing an Individualized Education Program (IEP) and teaching the students. Students are supported holistically by targeting individualized standards-based functional academic goals.


FIS CARE Individualized Programs

  • Individualized Education Plan/Program (IEP) – Each student receives an individualized plan developed by the IEP team that is designed to meet specific needs. This program outlines the benchmarks and recommendations to help the student achieve goals and be successful cognitively, socially and emotionally.
  • Behavioral Management Plan (BMP) – BMP will be provided one-on-one to address students’ behavioral/social/emotional needs.
  • Transition Programs

1. Early Intervention/Entry Level GroupThis program is for children aged 2 to 6 years old. This is for children who are identified as having delays in developmental milestones.

  1. Motor Learning. This involves activities that will promote physical development such as walking, running, climbing upstairs, holding things etc.
  2. Sensory Integration – This involves activities that help strengthen the different senses (tactile, vestibular/balance, and proprioception/knowing where the body part is).
  3. Social skills– This involves activities that promote interpersonal behaviors to enable students to competently perform social tasks and peer interaction.
  4. Activities of Daily Living skills (ADLs)– This involves activities that train the students to perform feeding, toileting, grooming as independently as possible.

2. Readiness GroupThis program is a progression of the Early Intervention Group which aims to prepare the student to join an Inclusive Class or a Special Education class

  1. ADLs – Students will be trained to eat, use the toilet and keep themselves neat, as independently as possible
  2. Self-monitoring and self-regulation skills – Students will be taught how to recognize their behavior and the strategies that they can do to calm or redirect themselves
  3. Fine motor skills – Students will be given activities to improve hand coordination which is a prerequisite for writing
  4. Listening skills – Students will be given activities to improve attention span, sitting tolerance and ability to follow instructions
  5. Prewriting – Students will be trained to form lines and strokes which is a prerequisite for writing letters and numbers

3. Special Education ClassThis program is for providing academic program to 6 to 15 years old. This program is for students who, EVEN WITH SUPPORT, are UNABLE to access the curriculum in an Inclusive Class. ADL and multi-sensory interventions will be integrated throughout the program.

  1. Functional Academics Curriculum (FAC) – There are three FAC modules. These will be Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced.
    1. Beginner Modules – This module covers Prerequisite Concepts which lay the foundation for academic subjects. Basic skills and concepts are broken down into smaller steps to make it more manageable for students with special needs. These will include shapes, colors, comparisons, alphabet, matching, visual and auditory discrimination, sorting etc.
    2. Intermediate Modules – This module covers Math, Reading, Writing, Social skills, Communication and Sciences. These areas will be taught bearing specifically on their functionality to be carried into real-life situations allowing the students to be as independent as possible.
    3. Advanced Modules  This module covers continuation of Math, Reading, Writing, Social skills, Communication and Sciences. Goals and performance tasks are more complex and involve higher level of difficulty, involving more complicated life skills like functional written communication, decision making, total communication etc.

Curriculum Information